top of page
Drone CHS Winter_edited.jpg


Our district is located in Chariton, in Lucas County, Iowa, and encompasses the towns of Chariton, Russell, Lucas, and Williamson. The Chariton Community School District enrolls approximately 1,300 students in PK - 12th grades. We have five attendance centers, all located in the town of Chariton. 

Hope Students_edited.jpg

Hope Learning Center

Hope Learning Center is fully licensed to meet the physical and developmental needs of up to 135 children. Our expert childcare staff, fully trained and educated in Early Childhood Development and Education, foster a nurturing environment of acceptance and welcome for all children.

Indian Hills.jpg

Indian Hills Community College

Indian Hills Community College has grown to meet the changing needs of the residents in the 10-county area the college serves. The college staff members, administration, and board of trustees are committed to providing high quality educational opportunities through the Indian Hills programs and facilities.

Extension Lucas.jpg

Lucas County Extension & Outreach

The Lucas County Extension Council, county staff and ISU staff work together to provide research-based learning opportunities for our citizens.

Drone CHS Winter_edited.jpg

Local Scholarship Opportunities

Through individuals and families, annual scholarship opportunities are available for post-secondary education. 

bottom of page